The New York Times: Trump Won’t Back Down From His Voting Fraud Lie. Here Are the Facts.

I can personally attest to the problems of out of date voter registration. When I moved to New York from Oregon and got my New York State drivers license at a DMV in downtown Manhattan, I registered to vote in New York. I assumed that they would communicate this with Oregon and null and void my voter registration there. They did not. How do I know? That October I got a email that my Oregon ballot was on its way (Oregon votes by mail, and it is the best voting system I have used across 3 states, more on that later). 

So what did I do? I called the Oregon Board of Elections and canceled my registration by emailing the required signed paperwork. Easy peasy! Did I commit voter fraud? No. Was I registered in more than one state? Yes, but through no fault of my own. For all I know I could still be registered to vote in Ohio, where I first registered to vote and cast my very first ballot.

What we really need is better cross-state communication. If someone moves to a different state and changes their voter registration, that should alert the registration in the old state to reach out to that individual and check if they changed their voter registration, and then update their records. This I’m sure can be done with some simple programming algorithm. 
I am so grateful for the voting system in Oregon, and miss it greatly. About a month before Election Day, ballots and information packets about ballot issues are mailed statewide to all registered Oregon voters. You can casually fill out your ballot at home, do your own research on the candidates, bills, and amendments, then when you’re done you seal the envelope and sign it, and either send it in by mail or drop it off at your local library branch. No lines, no needing to miss work, no having to find your polling place or show an ID, it’s so easy! As voting should be. Best part? You can go online to track your ballot to make sure it’s been received! Other states could learn a lot from Oregon.

And with all that said, here’s the article about the supposed voting fraud:

“During a private meeting with congressional leaders on Monday, President Trump asserted that between three million and five million unauthorized immigrants had voted for his Democratic opponent and robbed him of a victory in the national popular vote.

There is no evidence to support the claim, which has been discredited repeatedly by numerous fact-checkers”
https://nyti.ms/2kpnotp

Leave a comment