The Atlantic: I Was a Muslim in the Trump White House—and I Lasted Eight Days

Beautifully written, yet so tragic. This is not the America I want, where diversity is seen as a weakness and conspiracy theorist authoritarians run the White House.

“The evening before I left, bidding farewell to some of my colleagues, many of whom have also since left, I notified Trump’s senior NSC communications adviser, Michael Anton, of my departure, since we shared an office. His initial surprise, asking whether I was leaving government entirely, was followed by silence––almost in caution, not asking why. I told him anyway.

I told him I had to leave because it was an insult walking into this country’s most historic building every day under an administration that is working against and vilifying everything I stand for as an American and as a Muslim. I told him that the administration was attacking the basic tenets of democracy. I told him that I hoped that they and those in Congress were prepared to take responsibility for all the consequences that would attend their decisions.”

Full article here.

Leave a Reply

